There's This Thing

There s This Thing A sweet and humorous Valentine s Day story about a little girl s first crush In this charming tale one little girl would love nothing than to share her heart with a little boy she has a crush on if

  • Title: There's This Thing
  • Author: Connah Brecon
  • ISBN: 9780399161858
  • Page: 457
  • Format: Hardcover
  • A sweet and humorous Valentine s Day story about a little girl s first crush In this charming tale, one little girl would love nothing than to share her heart with a little boy she has a crush on, if only she could overcome her shyness and tell him how she feels She tries everything she can think of to get him to notice her But in the end, it turns out that she diA sweet and humorous Valentine s Day story about a little girl s first crush In this charming tale, one little girl would love nothing than to share her heart with a little boy she has a crush on, if only she could overcome her shyness and tell him how she feels She tries everything she can think of to get him to notice her But in the end, it turns out that she didn t have to do anything he d noticed her all along With its quirky humor and unique, child friendly illustrations, There s This Thing is perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers, and for Valentines of any age.Praise for There s This Thing A refreshing reminder that it can be hard to ask for what we want, and that even introverts need love above all New York Times Book Review A charming and inspiring story Charlotte Parent

    713 Comment

    • Amy says:

      Mixed feelings about this one. I liked the Oliver Jeffers-style illustrations, especially the little girl's explosion of red hair. I presume that the "thing" she's looking for is love (it's never explicitly spelled out), which finds her at the end of the book -- in the form of a little boy holding a red balloon. Why doesn't the little girl find love with her family or with an animal companion? Are we talking about romantic love? If so, WHY are we talking about five-year-olds and romance? I'm jus [...]

    • Regina L says:

      Connah Brecon’s “There’s This Thing” follows a little girl as she tries to share her heart with another. She tries to invite love, entice love, capture love, but the love seems to be unrequited and unreturned. She tries to be someone she is not, to be loud and showy in order for her displays of affection to go noticed. And just as she is feeling rejected and giving up, she gets her happy ending – love has found her after all.This book’s message of not trying too hard for love, but le [...]

    • Jillian says:

      The synopsis of this book reveals more information than the actual book. The little girl is searching for what we can guess is love, but we aren't informed that she has a crush on a boy as the synopsis suggests. At the end of the book a boy appears with a red heart balloon and apparently she has found what she was looking for. I sat there wondering, should a little girl be swept off her feet at the first gesture of kindness she receives, and is this a message I want my little girl to learn?As a [...]

    • Sydney Hall says:

      I picked this book at the library because I thought it would be a good one to read for Valentine's Day. It is a sweet story about a girl who has a "thing" that she wants to share but isn't quiet sure how. After reading the whole thing through, I thought it would be a good one for struggling readers in the 2nd-3rd grade range. The sentences are short and there is a repetitive sequence with the sentence structure. Also, the book is full of color and cute illustrations that are fun for kids to look [...]

    • Livvie Esslinger says:

      This book leaves you questioning what it is primarily about until the very end. The girl is struggling with trying to find her "thing." She tries all different things to find it, but gets discouraged when nothing works. At the very end, a little boy comes and sits by her, and it lets you know she has found it. I LOVE the creativity in this book! It encourages you to focus mostly on the illustrations for a lot of the information you get from the book. It is light and fun.This story would be helpf [...]

    • Amanda says:

      I stumbled upon this book at my library and thought it looked cute. I was disappointed with the story, though. The "Thing" the girl was looking for ended up being the attention of a boy. A little cliche, I thought. And even forgiving the cliche, it was very understated but not in a charming way but in a let down way. I'm also not a huge fan of romance in children's books? I will say that the illustrations were engaging and active in the storytelling, and if the ending hadn't been so disappointin [...]

    • Jillian Heise says:

      I'm not quite sure how I feel about this one. I need to think on it for a bit. In a weird way, it almost seems as if it's really a topic more aimed at teen readers, but in a simple picture book format. I could actually see some of my middle school readers really connecting to the ideas in it, but I'm not sure I would necessarily want to share this one with young readers.

    • Kris says:

      Three stars for the adorable illustration. The story is not good. It is very vague and unclear, but the parts that I did gather were about a little girl trying to tell the boy she has a crush on how she feels. A romance for the preschool set. Ick.

    • Diana Thomsen says:

      No. Just The illustrations were cute, but the book says NOTHING! My kids wouldn't be able to figure out to what was being alluded, and by the time they would, they'd have outgrown the book. In my opinion, this was a very poor execution of a theme.

    • Lynn says:

      Sparse but cute illustrations help focus on the action, but the action is a bit quiet. It reminds me of the message that sometimes we look too hard for love, and if we wait patiently and turn to other things, it will find us. I'm not sure youngsters will understand.

    • Casandria says:

      Cute, but way too existential for preschool story time. A little girl looks for love in all kinds of crazy places.

    • Edward Sullivan says:

      Little girl's first crush.

    • Michelle says:

      I like the art work in this book.

    • Rachel says:

      This story is very disjointed.

    • Morgan says:

      Maybe a great book for Valentine's Day

    • Lindsay says:

      Lovely illustrations. For me the scenarios were silly and kid-friendly but the overall message was a bit adult.

    • Mary Ellen says:

      So stinkin' charming.

    • Paula Hollohan says:

      I didn't really get it. It would be hard for the younger crowd to grasp. Unless you love it, give it a miss for your classroom library. K-3 with good intuitive skills.

    • Megan says:

      Cutebut dumb ending.

    • Liz Todd says:

      Seems like a picture book for middle schoolers? I don't get it? First crush? Who is this written for?

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *